Feb 20, 2009

Laissez les bon temps roulez


okay, it is Mardi Gras season - full swing!
We went out and did our thing last Friday night. So much fun! But to do it nearly every night for 3-4 weeks...y'all are crazy!
On the radio she was talkin about New Orleans Mardi Gras vs Mobile.... I was DYING.....she says

"if you think you say 'ew, that's nasty' every 5 or 10 minutes in Mobile, you may as well put it on a continuous loop in NO...cause EVERYTHING is EWW NASTY. And in Mobile, we have standards about who can be up on a float. In NO, if you have a butt you and pin a sequin on, you can be crowned queen-a-anything!!"

And we DO have class in Mobile....look at this spectacularness....



MARVELOUS!
well...maybe not all 'class' but that's still hot, yo!




Fat Tuesday is this coming Tuesday (24th) kinda makes me miss working in Mobile...cause you get that day off. (well, I did...when your bosses are too drunk to work, businesses tend to be closed)

Listening to: "Crazy Bitch" - Buckcherry

Feb 16, 2009

A-FRIGGIN-DORABLE

My Nephew....so friggin cute!!
this was Sunday (he's 6 months)
really....thats about all I have in me right now....
My recovery from Friday night took up...um....Sat and Sunday.....and here I am playing interwebz catchup.....*hobbles around*
but who can resist showing off this FACE?!?!

Listening to: "Kings of New Orleans" - Better Than Ezra

Feb 13, 2009

"fine! fer-getit"

ok, I'm here too... *eyes Heather*
cause I need 4 places to bitch and complain...suurrreee...why not!

so what now?
First of all, on the day we do not discuss (tho, as I say, gifts and cake are still accepted) I got the usual phone calls from family.
Dad was his usual self. Next up was my step mom. Now as we are into a conversation she says "so did you hear about your brother?" (in this case we are talking my older brother)
me: *sigh* no...what NOW!?
smom: oh....so you haven't heard!?! your dad didn't tell you!?
me: are you kidding, no one tells me shit.
smom: oh! WELL! Turns out him and Shirley...got married.
me: WHAT?!!??@#!??
smom: haha that was almost your dad's reaction, except he said "WHY?"

why is this such a shock you ask? *cough* not that we care that they got married; but it's really out of the blue. There was no warning, or indication.
They have been living together for about 12 years....why bother getting married now...the tax break, its really not worth it (in fact, I file single, cause at the end of the year it costs me less)
So, really...WHY!? They are both over 40 (in fact, she is over 50)
And this is the brother who has barely spoken a word to me for the last 7 years because he thought I was making a mistake in life by getting married.
So they got married on Monday. No one knew. They just up and did it.
whatev.
I am so glad Mandy is on her way. We are gonna put on ball dresses and go get our drink on at Mardi Gras.

Listening to: 'Rescue Me' - Buckcherry